|St. Michael's||The Font|
|Nave and North Arcade||Nave and South Arcade|
|The Chancel||Triple Sedilia and Piscina|
South of the A52 road running from Stoke to Derby via Ashbourne, north east of the A51 road from Stone to Lichfield and north west of the A38 from from Derby to Lichfield there is some wonderful countryside. Here are full of picturesque villages, lying on the borders of Staffordshire and Derbyshire and including part of the valley of the River Dove. Among the villages are Longford, Church Broughton and Norbury in Derbyshire and Alton and Ellastone in Staffordshire. Leave the main roads and meander through the lanes to discover this charming area well off the tourist trail.
St.Michaels at Church Broughton dates mainly from the early 14th century. As the picture of the exterior and the nave show the aisles do not extend the full length of the church, leaving the narrow chancel well lit. The lower part of the tower are early 14th century too but the upper parts with gargoyles and battlements are 19th century. The roof was modified in the 18th century. Note the ogee arches above the sedilia and piscina. The font is Norman with a carved pattern around it.
In the church there is a list of incumbetns going back to William Le Hunte in 1300 when the patron was the Prior of Tutbury. The Priors retained this role with the exception of a period in the late 14th century until the Dissolution when the patronage was taken over by Sir William Cavendish. The churchy is now part of the United Benefice with Barton Blount, Boylestone, Sutton-on-the-Hill & Trusley.
The Buildings of England, Derbyshire, by Nikolaus Pevsner, revised by Elizabeth Williamson, Yale University Press, 2002, ISBN 0-300-09591-0